United States Department of Agriculture - USDA.gov

Visit Website Add Favorites Contact Author

Founded in 1862 by President Abraham Lincoln, an act of Congress was signed into law establishing the United States Department of Agriculture. In his final annual message to the Congress two and one-half years later, Lincoln called USDA “The People’s Department.” At that time, about half of all Americans lived on farms, compared with about 2 percent today. With their work on food, agriculture, economic development, science, natural resource conservation and a host of issues, USDA still fulfills Lincoln’s vision by touching the lives of every American, every day. USDA commemorated and celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2012.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) is made up of 29 agencies and offices. The United States Department of Agriculture has nearly 100,000 employees who serve the American people at more than 4,500 locations across the country and abroad.

USDA provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management.

They have a vision to provide economic opportunity through innovation, helping rural America to thrive. They aim to do this by promoting agriculture production that better nourishes Americans while also helping feed others throughout the world. Their objective is to preserve the Nation’s natural resources through conservation, restored forests, improved watersheds, and healthy private working lands.
Their strategic plan serves as a roadmap for the Department of Agriculture to help ensure they achieve their mission and implement their vision.

NOTE: This hand-picked entry is not eligible to Win $500

No Feedback Received